Wiener Staatsballett

The Swiss-born dance artist Martin Schläpfer, whose most recent achievment has been to lead the multi award-winning Ballett am Rhein Düsseldorf Duisburg to rank as one of the great companies of the world, is going to succeed Manuel Legris on 1 September 2020. Legris - a former Danseur Étoile at the Paris Opera Ballet - finishes his extremely successful ten-year period as Director of the Wiener Staatsballett and is going to take over as Director of the Scala di Milano ballet.

Following the acclaimed Staatsoper premieres of »Jewels« by George Balanchine and »Lukács | Lidberg | Duato«, the coronavirus pandemic regrettably made it impossible to show the two premieres »La Piaf« and »Appassionato – Bach und Vivaldi« at the Volksoper, and »Ballett-Hommage (Forsythe | Horecna | Lander)« and the traditional »Nureyev Gala« at the Staatsoper. In terms of repertoire, »Sylvia«, »Forsythe | van Manen | Kylián«, »Peer Gynt«, »Le Corsaire«, »Onegin« and »MacMillan | McGregor | Ashton« were performed again at the Staatsoper in 2019/20. At the Volksoper, audiences were delighted by the Staatsballett in Vesna Orlić’s »Peter Pan« and »Carmina Burana« as well Pierre Lacotte’s »Coppélia«.

Martin Schläpfer introduces himself in the forthcoming season with two world premieres at the Wiener Staatsoper. Using Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 4, he is creating his new ballet »4« for the entire company. The world premiere debuts on 24 November 2020, in combination with Hans van Manen’s video ballet »Live«. Martin Schläpfer’s new work »Sinfonie Nr. 15«, set to Dmitri Shostakovich’s work of the same name, follows on 26 June 2021 in the premiere »Tänze Bilder Sinfonien«. For this programme, which opens with George Balanchine’s neoclassical masterpiece »Symphony in Three Movements«, Martin Schläpfer has also been able to secure a contribution from Alexei Ratmansky, who for the first time is allowing one of his works, »Pictures at an Exhibition«, to be performed by the Wiener Staatsballett. »A Suite of Dances«, which starts on 23 May 2021, is entirely devoted to the American neoclassical period, with new stagings of works from the more recent Vienna repertoire such as Jerome Robbins’ »Glass Pieces« and »The Concert« being performed in combination with George Balanchine’s »Duo Concertant« and Robbins’ »A Suite of Dances«.

In his programme planning, Director Martin Schläpfer is presenting himself as a “bridge builder” who, while continuing to nurture the great ballet traditions, will at the same time enrich the programme by including important artists of the present time. The premieres at the Volksoper Wien certainly belong to the modern period. From 20 September 2020, »Hollands Meister« will show works by the masters who have shaped the Dutch dance scene: Sol Leóns & Paul Lightfoot’s »Skew-Whiff« is being performed with Hans van Manen’s »Adagio Hammerklavier« and Jiří Kyliáns »Symphony of Psalms«. From 30 January 2021, a major work by Martin Schläpfer, »Ein Deutsches Requiem«, set to Johannes Brahms’s work of the same name, will be shown in a new staging by the Wiener Staatsballett. The final premiere at the Volksoper is dedicated to central artists of American Modern Dance, with Paul Taylor’s »Promethean Fire« and Mark Morris’ »Beaux«, contrasted by two filigree miniatures by Martin Schläpfer which are set to music by György Ligeti.

The Staatsoper season opens with George Balanchine’s »Jewels«, to be followed by »La Fille mal gardée«, »Giselle« and »Swan Lake« – three great narrative ballets from the Vienna repertoire. At the Volksoper, Vesna Orlić’s popular family ballet »Peter Pan« and Pierre Lacotte’s »Coppélia« return once more to the programme.


Ballet Club Vienna State Ballet

With the appointment of Martin Schläpfer as Director of the Vienna State Ballet, the Ballet Club will be directly managed by the Vienna State Ballet, to pursue its projects of promoting talents and outreach-initiatives in the coming season.

Further information about registration, different membership levels and their benefits such as discussions with artists, training and rehearsal visits and much more will be available HERE.

Wiener Staatsballett

Der Schweizer Martin Schläpfer, der zuletzt das mehrfach preisgekrönte Ballett am Rhein Düsseldorf Duisburg zu internationalem Rang geführt hat, folgt am 1. September 2020 auf den ehemaligen Danseur Étoile des Balletts der Pariser Oper Manuel Legris, der mit Ende der Spielzeit 2019/20 seine überaus erfolgreiche zehnjährige Direktionszeit beim Wiener Staatsballett beschließt, um die Leitung des Balletts der Scala di Milano zu übernehmen.

Nach den gefeierten Staatsopern-Premieren »Jewels« von George Balanchine und »Lukács | Lidberg | Duato« können aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie die beiden Premieren »La Piaf« und »Appassionato – Bach und Vivaldi« in der Volksoper Wien sowie »Ballett-Hommage (Forsythe | Horecna | Lander)« und die traditionelle »Nurejew Gala« in der Staatsoper leider nicht mehr gezeigt werden. Im Repertoire waren 2019/20 erneut »Sylvia«, »Forsythe | van Manen | Kylián«, »Peer Gynt«, »Le Corsaire«, »Onegin« sowie »MacMillan | McGregor | Ashton« in der Staatsoper zu erleben. In der Volksoper begeisterte das Staatsballett mit Vesna Orlićs »Peter Pan« und »Carmina Burana« sowie Pierre Lacottes »Coppélia«.

In der kommenden Saison stellt sich Martin Schläpfer mit zwei Uraufführungen in der Wiener Staatsoper vor. Zu Gustav Mahlers Symphonie Nr. 4 kreiert er für die gesamte Compagnie das neue Ballett »4«. Uraufführung ist am 24. November 2020, kombiniert mit Hans van Manens Videoballett »Live«. Am 26. Juni 2021 folgt in der Premiere »Tänze Bilder Sinfonien« Martin Schläpfers neues Werk »Sinfonie Nr. 15« zu Dmitri Schostakowitschs gleichnamiger Komposition. Für diese Premiere, die mit George Balanchines neoklassischem Meisterwerk »Symphony in Three Movements« eröffnet, konnte Martin Schläpfer außerdem Alexei Ratmansky gewinnen, der mit seinen »Pictures at an Exhibition« erstmals dem Wiener Staatsballett eines seiner Werke anvertraut. Ab dem 23. Mai 2021 widmet sich »A Suite of Dances« dagegen ganz der amerikanischen Neoklassik: Neu einstudierte Werke aus dem jüngeren Wiener Repertoire wie Jerome Robbins’ »Glass Pieces« und »The Concert« treffen auf George Balanchines »Duo Concertant« und Robbins’ »A Suite of Dances«.

Als Direktor zeigt sich Martin Schläpfer in seiner Planung als ein Brückenbauer, der die großen Balletttraditionen selbstverständlich weiter pflegen, aber auch den Spielplan um wichtige Künstler der Gegenwart bereichern wird. Die Premieren in der Volksoper Wien stehen im Zeichen der Moderne. »Hollands Meister« zeigt ab dem 20. September 2020 Werke aus der niederländischen Tanzschmiede: Sol Leóns & Paul Lightfoots »Skew-Whiff« trifft auf Hans van Manens »Adagio Hammerklavier« und Jiří Kyliáns »Symphony of Psalms«. Ab dem 30. Jänner 2021 wird mit »Ein Deutsches Requiem« zu Johannes Brahms’ gleichnamiger Komposition dann ein Hauptwerk Martin Schläpfers in der Neueinstudierung des Wiener Staatsballetts zu sehen sein. Die letzte Premiere in der Volksoper widmet sich mit Paul Taylors »Promethean Fire« und Mark Morris’ »Beaux« zentralen Künstlern des American Modern Dance – kontrastiert von zwei filigranen Miniaturen Martin Schläpfers zu Musik von György Ligeti.

Eröffnet wird die Staatsopern-Saison mit George Balanchines »Jewels«, auf die mit »La Fille mal gardée«, »Giselle« und »Schwanensee« drei große Handlungsballette aus dem Wiener Repertoire folgen. In der Volksoper stehen erneut Vesna Orlićs beliebtes Familienstück »Peter Pan« sowie Pierre Lacottes »Coppélia« auf dem Spielplan.


Ballettclub Wiener Staatsballett

Mit dem Antritt von Martin Schläpfer als Direktor des Wiener Staatsballetts wird der Ballettclub mit seinen Projekten und Zielen der Nachwuchsförderung und Kulturvermittlung unter dem Dach des Wiener Staatsballetts fortgeführt.
Informationen zur Anmeldung, den verschiedenen Mitgliedschaften und ihren Vorteilen wie beispielsweise Künstlergespräche, Trainings- und Probenbesuche sowie dem Programm des Ballettclubs finden Sie HIER.