Navigation des aktuellen Bereichs:
Inhalt:

History

The structure of the opera house was planned by the Viennese architect August Sicard von Sicardsburg, while the inside was designed by interior decorator Eduard van der Nüll. It was also impacted by other major artists such as Moritz von Schwind, who painted the frescoes in the foyer, and the famous "Zauberflöten" (“Magic Flute”) series of frescoes on the veranda. Neither of the architects survived to see the opening of ‘their’ opera house: the sensitive van der Nüll committed suicide, and his friend Sicardsburg died of a stroke soon afterwards.

On May 25, 1869, the opera house solemnly opened with Mozart's DON JUAN in the presence of Emperor Franz Joseph and Empress Elisabeth.
The popularity of the building grew under the artistic influence of the first directors: Franz von Dingelstedt, Johann Herbeck, Franz Jauner, and Wilhelm Jahn. The Vienna opera experienced its first high point under the direction of Gustav Mahler. He completely transformed the outdated performance system, increased the precision and timing of the performances, and also utilized the experience of other noteworthy artists, such as Alfred Roller, for the formation of new stage aesthetics.

The years 1938 to 1945 were a dark chapter in the history of the opera house. Under the Nazis, many members of the house were driven out, pursued, and killed, and many works were not allowed to be played.

On March 12, 1945, the opera house was devastated during a bombing, but on May 1, 1945, the “State Opera in the Volksoper” opened with a performance of Mozart's THE MARRIAGE OF FIGARO. On October 6, 1945, the hastily restored “Theaters an der Wien” reopened with Beethoven's FIDELIO. For the next ten years the Vienna State Opera operated in two venues while the true headquarters was being rebuilt at a great expense

The Secretary of State for Public Works, Julius Raab, announced on May 24, 1945, that reconstruction of the Vienna State Opera would begin immediately. Only the main facade, the grand staircase, and the Schwind Foyer had been spared from the bombs. On November 5, 1955, the Vienna State Opera reopened with a new auditorium and modernized technology. Under the direction of Karl Böhm, Beethoven’s FIDELIO was brilliantly performed, and the opening ceremonies were broadcast by Austrian television. The whole world understood that life was beginning again for this country that had just regained its independence.

Today, the Vienna State Opera is considered one of the most important opera houses in the world; in particular, it is the house with the largest repertoire. It has been under the direction of Dominique Meyer since September 1, 2010.

» All directors of the Wiener Staatsoper
bundestheater.at

Navigation des aktuellen Bereichs:
Inhalt:

Geschichte

Geplant wurde das Opernhaus von den Wiener Architekten August von Sicardsburg, der den Grundplan entwarf, und Eduard van der Nüll, der die Innendekoration gestaltete. Aber auch andere bedeutende Künstler wirkten mit. Etwa Moritz von Schwind, der die Fresken im Foyer und den berühmten "Zauberflöten"-Freskenzyklus in der Loggia malte. Die beiden Architekten erlebten die Eröffnung "ihres" Opernhauses nicht mehr. Der sensible van der Nüll beging Selbstmord, sein Freund Sicardsburg erlag wenig später einem Schlaganfall.

Am 25. Mai 1869 wurde das Haus mit Mozarts DON JUAN in Anwesenheit von Kaiser Franz Joseph und Kaiserin Elisabeth feierlich eröffnet.
Mit der künstlerischen Ausstrahlung unter den ersten Direktoren Franz von Dingelstedt, Johann Herbeck, Franz Jauner und Wilhelm Jahn wuchs jedoch auch die Popularität des Bauwerkes. Einen ersten Höhepunkt erlebte die Wiener Oper unter dem Direktor Gustav Mahler, der das veraltete Aufführungssystem von Grund auf erneuerte, Präzision und Ensemblegeist stärkte und auch bedeutende bildende Künstler (darunter Alfred Roller) zur Formung der neuen Bühnenästhetik heranzog.

Ein dunkles Kapitel in der Geschichte des Hauses sind die Jahre von 1938 bis 1945, als im Nationalsozialismus viele Mitglieder des Hauses verfolgt, vertrieben und ermordet wurden, zahlreiche Werke nicht mehr gespielt werden durften.

Am 12. März 1945 wurde das Haus am Ring durch Bombentreffer weitgehend verwüstet, doch bereits am 1. Mai 1945 wurde die "Staatsoper in der Volksoper" mit einer Aufführung von Mozarts DIE HOCHZEIT DES FIGARO eröffnet, am 6. Oktober 1945 folgte die Wiedereröffnung des in aller Eile restaurierten Theaters an der Wien mit Beethovens FIDELIO. Damit gab es für die nächsten zehn Jahre zwei Spielstätten, während das eigentliche Stammhaus mit großem Aufwand wiedererrichtet wurde.

Schon am 24. Mai 1945 hatte der Staatssekretär für öffentliche Bauten, Ing. Julius Raab, den Wiederaufbau der Wiener Staatsoper verkündet. Nur die Hauptfassade, die Feststiege und das Schwindfoyer waren von den Bomben verschont geblieben - mit neuem Zuschauerraum und modernisierter Technik wurde die Wiener Staatsoper glanzvoll mit Beethovens FIDELIO unter Karl Böhm am 5. November 1955 wiedereröffnet. Die Eröffnungsfeierlichkeiten wurden vom Österreichischen Fernsehen übertragen und in der ganzen Welt zugleich als Lebenszeichen der neuerstandenen 2. Republik verstanden.

Heute gilt die Wiener Staatsoper als eines der wichtigsten Opernhäuser der Welt, vor allem als das Haus mit dem größten Repertoire. Direktor ist seit 1. September 2010 Dominique Meyer, Ballettdirektor Manuel Legris.

» Alle Direktoren
bundestheater.at